About us-2

The European & Developing Countries Clinical Trials Partnership (EDCTP) is a public-public partnership between countries in Europe and sub-Saharan Africa, supported by the European Union.


What is our mission?
EDCTP exists to accelerate the clinical development of new or improved medicinal products for the identification, treatment and prevention of poverty-related infectious diseases, including (re-)emerging diseases. Our approach integrates support for research with the development of clinical research capacity in sub-Saharan Africa.

Our member countries?
European countries (14) – Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden, UK.
African countries (16) Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

Angola and Switzerland participate as aspirant members of the EDCTP Association.

How are we organised?
The EDCTP Association is governed by its members, the European and African member countries (or Participating States). The Association implements the second EDCTP programme (2014-2024).

  • The General Assembly is the governing body
  • The Board manages the Association and supervises the Secretariat on behalf of the General Assembly
  • The Scientific Advisory Committee is the principal advisory body to the General Assembly and the Secretariat.
  • The Secretariat executes the activities of the programme.

How are we funded?
The EDCTP programme is supported under Horizon 2020, the European Union’s Framework Programme for Research and Innovation. The European Union will provide up to € 683 million for the current 10-year programme (2014-2024), provided this is matched by contributions from the European EDCTP member countries.

EDCTP member countries contribute directly and indirectly to the EDCTP programme. We also receive support from charitable organisations, companies and other partners.