

## Minutes from the virtual EDCTP General Assembly meeting of 28 May 2021, 13:00-17:00 CEST

## MEETING PARTICIPANTS

**General Assembly (GA) Representatives present:** 

Austria (AT) Elisabeth Tischelmayer (Technical Advisor) (AT-ET) - written proxy for AT

Burkina Faso (BF) Ali Sie (BF-AS)

Cameroon (CM) Anne-Cécile Zoung Kanyi Bissek (CM-AB)

Congo (CG) Francine Ntoumi (CG-FN)
Denmark (DK) Mikkel Lyndrup (DK-ML)
Ethiopia (ET) Abebe Genetu Bayih (ET-AGB)

Finland (FI) Sirpa Nuotio (FI-SN)

France (FR) Yazdan Yazdanpanah (EDCTP Board Chair) (FR-YY), Chairperson

France (FR) Virginie Sivan (FR-VS)

France (FR) Marion Fanjat (Technical Advisor) (FR-MF)

Gabon (GA)

Ayola Akim Adegnika (GA-AA)

Gabon (GA)

Jean-Bernard Lekana Douki (GA-JD)

Germany (DE)/Luxembourg (LU) Andrea Spelberg (EDCTP Board Member) (DE-AS) – written proxy for LU

Germany (DE) Detlef Böcking (DE-DB)

Germany (DE)

Arlena Liggins (Technical Advisor) (DE-AL)
Germany (DE)

Sabrina Voss (Technical Advisor) (DE-SV)

Italy (IT) Pietro Alano (IT-PA)

Italy (IT) Aldo Covello (Technical Advisor) (IT-AC)

Mali (ML)

Mozambique (MZ)

The Netherlands (NL)

Abdoulaye Djimdé (ML-AD)

Eusébio Macete (MZ-EM)

Gerrie Tuitert (NL-GT)

Niger (NE)
Sakina Habou Ocquet (NE-SO)
Niger (NE)
Halima Boubacar Maïnassara (NE-HM)

Nigeria (NG)

Rodwin Brooks (NG-GB)

Karine Kålsås (NO-KK)

Portugal (PT) Anabela Isidro (PT-AI), written proxy for PT

Senegal (SN) Alioune Dieye (SN-AD)
Senegal (SN) Youssoupha Ndiaye (SN-YN)

South Africa (ZA)

Jeffrey Mphahlele (EDCTP Board Vice-Chair) (ZA-JM)

South Africa (ZA) Vinny Pillay (ZA-VP)

South Africa (ZA) Glaudina Loots (Technical Advisor) (ZA-GL)

Abbreviations:

AACHRD - African Advisory Committee for Research and

Development

ACT - Access to COVID-19 Tools

ACT-A-Dx - Accelerator Diagnostics Pillar

Africa CDC - Africa Centres for Disease Control and

Prevention

AIGHD - Amsterdam Institute for Global Health and

Development AU – African Union

ALERRT - African coalition for Epidemic Research,

Response and Training

AVAREF - African Vaccine Regulatory Forum BMGF - Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation

BRCCH - Botnar Research Centre for Child Health CEPI - Coalition for Epidemic Preparedness Innovations CONCVACT - Consortium for COVID-19 Vaccine Trials COVAX - the vaccines pillar of the ACT Accelerator

COVID-19 - COrona VIrus Disease 2019 DNDi - Drugs for Neglected Diseases initiative

EC – European Commission

FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions

FB - Fondation Botnar

FIND - Foundation for Innovative New Diagnostics

GA – General Assembly

GloPID-R - Global Research Collaboration for Infectious

Disease Preparedness GF – the Global Fund

GMP - Global Malaria Program

GPH - EU-Africa Global Health Partnership (EDCTP3)

HR – High Representative

JU - Joint Undertaking

MMV - Medicines for Malaria Venture NHRS - National Health Research System



## Minutes of the EDCTP GA of 28 May 2021 Teleconference through Zoom

South Africa (ZA)

Spain (ES)

Sweden (SE) Sweden (SE)

Sweden (SE)

Switzerland (Aspirant Member) (CH)

Uganda (UG)

United Kingdom (UK) United Kingdom (UK)

United Kingdom (UK)

General Assembly (GA) apologies:

Angola (Aspirant Member) (AO)

Ghana (GH)

Ireland (IE) Tanzania (TZ)

The Gambia (GM)

Zambia (ZM)

Andiswa Zitho (EDCTP Project Coordinator) (ZA-AZ)

Tomás López-Peña Ordoñez (ES-TL)

Hannah Akuffo (SE-HA) Markus Moll (SE-MM)

Maria-Teresa Bejarano (Technical Advisor) (SE-MB)

Juerg Utzinger (CH-JU) Sam Okware (UG-SO) Mark Palmer (UK-MP) Bianca Dsouza (UK-BD)

Samia Maiid (Technical Advisor) (UK-SM)

**General Assembly Observers present:** 

European Commission (EC) Barbara Kerstiëns (EC-BK)

European Commission (EC) Inmaculada Peñas-Jiménez (EC-IPJ)

European Commission (EC) Steffi Sowinski (EC-SS) European Commission (EC) Elmar Nimmesgern (EC-EN) WHO Regional Office for Africa (WHO-AFRO) Joseph Okeibunor (WHO-JO)

Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) Catherine Hankins (SAC Chair) (SAC-CH)

**EDCTP Secretariat (SEC) present:** 

Director of Finance & Administration (SEC) Abdoulie Barry (SEC-AB)

Operations Manager (SEC) Pauline Beattie (SEC-PB)

Director of International Cooperation Africa (SEC) Moses Bockarie (SEC-MBo) Legal Officer (SEC) Louwrens Kiestra (SEC-LK) Executive Director (SEC) Michael Makanga (SEC-MM)

Technical Advisor R&D (secondment) Anthony Man (SEC-AM)

Strategic Partnerships & Capacity Dev. Manager (SEC) Thomas Nyirenda (SEC-TN)

Strategic Partnerships Officer (SEC) Lara Pandya (SEC-LP) High Representative Africa (SEC) Leonardo Simão (SEC-LS) High Representative Europe (SEC) Marcel Tanner (SEC-MT) Strategic Partnerships Officer (SEC) Ana Lúcia Weinberg (SEC-ALW) PANDORA-ID-NET - Pan-African Network for Rapid

R&D - Research and Development

Research, Response, Relief and Preparedness for Infectious

**Diseases Epidemics** 

PDP - Product Development Partnership

PPE - Personal Protective Equipment

PRDs - Poverty-related diseases

PS – Participating State

PSIA - Participating State Initiated Activity

SAC – Scientific Advisory Committee

SEC - EDCTP Secretariat

SRIA - Strategic Research and Innovation Agenda

SSA - Sub-Saharan Africa

UKCDR - UK Collaborative on Development Research

WHO – World Health Organization

WHO-AFRO - World Health Organization - Regional Office

for Africa.



SUMMARY OF DECISIONS AND ACTION POINTS							
#	AGENDA ITEM	DECISIONS AND ACTIONS	ACTION BY	DUE DATE			
1.3	Approval of the agenda	<b>DECISION</b> : The agenda of the GA meeting of 28 May 2021 was approved.					
1.5	Approval of the minutes of the GA meeting of 19 October 2020	<b>DECISION</b> : The minutes of the GA meeting of 19 October 2020 were approved.					
2.2	EDCTP Annual Report 2020	<b>DECISION</b> : The EDCTP Annual Report 2020 was approved.					
2.3	Annual statutory accounts 2020	<b>DECISION</b> : The Annual statutory accounts 2020 were approved, in addition to the re-appointment of Ernst and Young (EY) as EDCTP's auditor for another year – to hold office until the conclusion of the May/June 2022 GA meeting.					
6.1	Status update on Participating States' Initiated Activities (PSIAs)	<b>ACTION:</b> SEC and EC to follow up on any necessary revisions to the EDCTP2 Delegation Agreement in order to implement the recommendations for increasing the acceptability of PSIA costs incurred by PSs.	SEC/EC	ASAP			
7.1.1	Amendments to EDCTP Articles of Association	<b>DECISION:</b> The Amendments to EDCTP Articles of Association were approved by 20 Association Members (Austria, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Denmark, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Germany, Italy, Luxembourg, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Senegal, South Africa, Spain, Uganda, United Kingdom) that were present or represented by written proxy in the meeting voted to approve the proposed amendments of the EDCTP Articles of Association.					
		<b>ACTION:</b> SEC to request the remaining 10 Association Members (Ireland, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Mozambique, The Netherlands, Portugal, Sweden, Tanzania, Zambia) to cast their votes by written procedure in order to secure the unanimous approval required for amending the Articles of Association.	SEC	ASAP			





7.1.2	Administrative costs	<b>DECISION:</b> The vote on the resolution for sharing of administrative	
		costs for the Global Heath EDCTP3 programme was postponed to a	
		later stage, when more would be known regarding the full extent of	
		the costs to be covered.	