Networks of Excellence

Map of Africa showing the member countries of each of the EDCTP regional networks of excellence

EDCTP supports networks of research centres that are involved in clinical trials in sub-Saharan Africa. These Networks of Excellence (NoEs) facilitate research collaboration by uniting diverse institutions in the four regions of sub-Saharan Africa.

Each institution contributes its individual strengths in areas such as good clinical practice, good clinical laboratory practice, data management, laboratory techniques and epidemiology, to the network in the context of on going clinical research work. By collaborating they learn and develop, and thereby raise the quality of clinical research and practice in sub-Saharan Africa.

The networks strive to collaborate with similar initiatives at country and regional level, in order ensure sustainability and avoid duplication. In addition, the networks should actively seek political and financial support from African national governments and regional economic committees.

To date, EDCTP funded the establishment of four regional Networks of Excellence:



Western Africa: WANETAM

The West Africa NoE for TB, AIDS and Malaria (WANETAM) builds capacity to prepare West African sites for clinical trials on HIV, TB and malaria. The network started its activities on 31 July 2009.

Countries participating in the WANETAM NoE


Project Coordinator: Professor Souleymane Mboup (University Cheikh Anta Diop, Senegal)

 Partner institutions

  • Burkina Faso
    • Centre National de Recherche et de Formation sur le Paludisme, Ouagadougou
    • Centre Muraz
  • The Gambia
    • National Public Health Laboratories
    • Medical Research Council, Fajara The Gambia
  • Ghana
    • Korle-bu Teaching Hospital University of Ghana Medical School
    • Noguchi Memorial Institute for Medical Research
  • Guinea Bissau
    • Project de Saúde de Bandim
  • Nigeria
    • College of Medicine University of Ibadan
    • Nigerian Institute of Medical Research
    • Innovative Biotech
  • Mali
    • Malaria Research and Training Center, Faculty of Medicine Bamako
  • Senegal
    • Laboratory of Bacteriology-virology, A. Le Dantec Hospital (UCAD)
    • Institut Pasteur, Dakar



Eastern Africa: EACCR

The East Africa Consortium for Clinical Research (EACCR) strengthens clinical trial sites in Eastern Africa. The Network started 14 May 2009.

Countries participating in the EACCR NoE


Project Coordinator: Dr Pontiano Kaleebu (Medical Research Council, MRC/UVRI Uganda Research Unit on AIDS, Uganda)

Partnering institutions

  • Kenya
    • Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)-Wellcome Trust Research Program
    • Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)-Walter-Reed Project
    • Kenya Medical Research Institute (KEMRI)-Centre for Global Health Research in partnership with CDC
    • Kenya AIDS Vaccine Initiative (KAVI)/University of Nairobi
    • Maseno University
  • Sudan
    • Institute of Endemic Diseases (IEND), University of Khartoum
  • Ethiopia
    • Armauer Hansen Research Institute (AHRI)
  • Tanzania
    • Kilimanjaro Christian Medical Centre (KCMC)/Kilimanjaro Clinical Research Institute (KCRI)
    • Ifakara Health Institute (IHI)
    • National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR)-Mwanza
    • National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR)-Tanga Research Centre
    • National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR)-Mbeya Medical Research Programme
    • Muhimbili University of Health and Allied Sciences
    • National Institute for Medical Research (NIMR)-Muhimbili
  • Uganda
    • Uganda Virus Research Institute (UVRI)
    • Medical Research Council (MRC) Unit on AIDS in Uganda
    • Makerere University and Infectious Disease Institute


Central Africa: CANTAM

In Central Africa, the Central African Network on TB, HIV/AIDS and malaria (CANTAM) joins institutions involved in clinical trials. The Network started its activities on 19 December 2008.

Countries participating in the CANTAM NoE


Project Coordinator: Professor Francine Ntoumi (Fondation Congolaise pour la Recherche Médicale, Congo)

Partnering institutions

  • Cameroon
    • Centre International de Référence Chantal Biya (CIRCB)
    • University of Yaoundé I
    • University of Buea
    • OCEAC
  • Congo
    • University Marien Ngouabi
    • CERVE
  • Gabon
    • Medical Research Unit of the Albert Schweitzer Hospital


Southern Africa: TESA

The Trials of Excellence for Southern Africa (TESA) Network focuses on the Southern African region. The network started its activities on 23 November 2009.

Countries participating in the TESA NoE


Project Coordinator: Professor Gerhard Walzl (Stellenbosch University, South Africa)

Partnering institutions

  • Botswana
    • Botswana Harvard HIV/AIDS Partnership (BHP)
  • Malawi
    • Malawi College of Medicine (Malawi-CoM)
  • Mozambique
    • Centro de Investigação em Saúde da Manhiça (CISM)
  • South Africa
    • South African Medical Research Council: Tuberculosis Research Unit (TBRU)
    • Stellenbosch University Immunology Research Group (SUN-IRG)
    • University of Cape-Town Lung Institute (UCT-LUNG)
    • University of Cape Town- Division of Clinical Pharmacology (UCT-PHARM)
  • Zambia
    • University of Zambia –University Teaching Hospital (UN-ZAM)
  • Zimbabwe
    • University of Zimbabwe College of Health Sciences (UZ-CHS)
    • Biomedical Research and Training Institute (BRTI)