TEBWA: Training epidemiologists and biostatisticians for enhanced response to disease outbreak and epidemic in west Africa

Project at a glance

Coordinator: Professor Romain Lucas Glele Kakai, University of Abomey-Calavi, Benin
Consortium partners: University of Abomey-Calavi in Benin in consortium with the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM, England), and the National Agency for Primary Health Care of the Ministry of Health (ANSSP/MoH, Benin)
Country of Fellow: Benin, Côte d’Ivoire, Ghana, Guinée, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Togo
Grant number: CSA2020E-3131

The overall objective of the TEBWA project is to enhance West Africa’s research capacity in epidemiology and biostatistics to respond efficiently to disease outbreaks and emerging (and re-emerging) infectious diseases. The project will train fifteen skilled postgraduate biostatisticians and infectious disease epidemiologists in West Africa through two regional qualified Master of Science programmes in epidemiology and biostatistics, with the opportunity for credit-seeking through the distance-learning platform of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine (LSHTM). The project’s consortium includes one Sub-Saharan country (Benin) and one participating state (United Kingdom).

The fellows will be trained on responsiveness techniques to disease outbreaks and epidemics, including preparedness, investigation, surveillance, implementation of control and prevention measures, modelling and forecasting. They will be motivated to conduct original research studies in biostatistics and epidemiology as part of their MSc training. The collaboration between partners will be strengthened through the exchange of staff and students and a credit-seeking approach (mobility scheme) and distance learning.

The Fellows


Moussa Abdou Neino (Niger)





Rougiatou Dialo (Guinea)





Coulibaly Bakary (Mali)




Elodie M. Dovoedo (Belin)






Marc Fassinou (Togo)






Bertille R.K. Obossou (Benin)






Ortiz Sallan (Benin)






Delight Agbi (Ghana)






Marwan Sesay (Liberia)






Ghislaine A.M. Sinlete (Benin)






Koovi T. Amoussouvi (Benin)






Nicolas Tuo (Côte d’Ivoire)






Diane E.S. Zanvo (Benin)






Eustache Alaye (Benin)





Manuella Okey (Benin)