Outstanding Female Scientist Prize

The Outstanding Female Scientist Prize is awarded to world-leading female scientists in sub-Saharan Africa working on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and neglected infectious diseases (NID) in the scope of the EDCTP2 programme.

Objectives of the prize

The prize is awarded to female scientists who have made a significant scientific contribution and built measurable impactful research capacity through training and mentorship for the future generation of researchers/scientists in Africa.

The prize consists of a recognition trophy and a cash prize of €20,000. The prize of €20,000 shall be used to further the research programme of the awardee and may support activities towards training and mentorship of the future generation of researchers in Africa.

Recipients of the Outstanding Female Scientist Prize



Professor Margaret Gyapong (Ghana)

Professor Margaret Gyapong is interested in research impact and has been a leader in this area bringing together the experiences of research institutions in Africa, Asia and Europe. In 25 years, Prof. Gyapong has risen through the ranks of the research ladder to become a seasoned and internationally renowned Scientist.

Read more »




Professor Gita Ramjee (South Africa)

Prof. Ramjee was renowned for her work in HIV prevention methods for women and investigated women-initiated HIV prevention options for many years. Her excellence in clinical research and capacity building brought her the Life Time achievement award in HIV prevention by a panel of international peers. She was also a recipient of the South African MRC Gold award given for scientific excellence. Prof. Ramjee passed away in March 2020 from COVID-19-related complications.

Read more »



Professor Marleen Temmerman (Belgium/Kenya)

For more than 30 years, Marleen Temmerman pursued a successful career as very productive researcher, academic teacher en mentor, clinician, and leader of academic and international organisations. Her main interests are HIV and sexual and reproductive health. From 2012 till 2015, she was the Director of the Department of Reproductive Health and Research (RHR) at the World Health Organisation in Geneva. Her work has been widely recognised and resulted in numerous awards and honorary degrees.

Read more »