EDCTP Association

The EDCTP Association is the dedicated implementation structure for the second EDCTP programme (EDCTP2; 2014-2024). It was established under Dutch law in order to enable sub-Saharan African countries to become members of the EDCTP Association, together with all countries associated to Horizon 2020, the EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation.

The EDCTP programme is supported under Horizon 2020, the European Union’s Framework Programme for Research & Innovation.

Bodies of the Association

The members of the Association appoint one authorised representative and one or more deputy or alternate representatives to the General Assembly.

The EDCTP Association consists of:

  • the General Assembly, the governing body in which all Members (also the Participating States), Aspirant Members and Observers are represented
  • the Board, which supervises the Secretariat on behalf of the General Assembly
  • the Secretariatthe executive body which is responsible for the day-to-day management of the Association.

The General Assembly has final and exclusive decision-making power as stipulated in Article 9 of the Articles of Association.

At least five GA representatives are appointed by the General Assembly to the Board of the Association, which is entrusted with the management of the Association.


Membership of the EDCTP Association is regulated by the Articles of Association and is open to:

• Sovereign States from the European Union (EU)
• Other sovereign States associated to the EU’s Framework programme for research, technological development and demonstration activities (Horizon2020)
• Sovereign States from sub-Saharan Africa
• (Groups of) institutions specifically mandated for this purpose by the aforementioned States
• Alliances of sovereign States and/or mandated institutions from the EU, and
• Alliances of sovereign States and/or mandated institutions from sub-Saharan Africa.

More on becoming a member of the EDCTP Association

Member countries of the EDCTP Association

The 16 African members of the Association or Participating States are: Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.

The 14 European members of the Association or Participating States are: Austria, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, The Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Spain, Sweden and the United Kingdom.

Angola and Switzerland are aspirant members.

Member countries of the EDCTP Association are also called Participating States.