Board of the EDCTP Association

The EDCTP Board is entrusted with the management of the Association, supervises the Secretariat on behalf of the General Assembly, and is responsible for ensuring that the Association’s resources are properly and efficiently managed.

Board members are selected from amongst the General Assembly representatives and their deputies and are appointed by the General Assembly with a tenure of two years, consecutively renewable once.

The Chairperson and up to two Vice-Chairpersons of the Board are appointed in function and also act as the Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson(s) of the General Assembly.

As of 2017, the main documents reflecting the work of the Board are published in a public version. See below under Meetings.

Members of the Board

Currently, the Board consists of the following members:

  • Yazdan Yazdanpanah (France), Chairperson
  • Christiane Druml (Austria), Vice-Chair
  • Jeffrey Mphahlele (South Africa), Vice-Chair
  • Andrea Spelberg (Germany), Member
  • Godfrey Biemba (Zambia), Member

EDCTP Board (left to right): Yazdan Yazdanpanah (Chair), Christiane Druml (Vice-Chair), Michael Makanga, Morven Roberts (resigned – replaced by Andrea Spelberg on 13 November 2019), Godfrey Biemba, Jeffrey Mphahlele.

Representatives of the European Commission, the EDCTP Scientific Advisory Committee and the EDCTP High Representatives may attend Board meetings by invitation, as non-voting observers.

Meetings and Decisions

23 November 2020Agenda and Decisions & Actions

3 September 2020Agenda and Decisions & Actions

15 May 2020Agenda and Decisions & Actions

27 March 2020Agenda and Decisions & Actions

01 February 2018 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

10 October 2017 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

12 September 2017 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

27 July 2017 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

Other information and documents

Details on membership, decision-making process and management tasks of the Board can be found in articles 15-19 of the EDCTP Articles of Association.