Prizes awarded by EDCTP

The EDCTP prizes recognise outstanding individuals and research teams from Africa and Europe who have made significant achievements in research field. In addition to their scientific excellence, the awardees will have made major contributions to the EDCTP objectives of strengthening clinical research capacity in Africa and supporting South-South and North-South networking.

One prestigious prize is named after Dr Pascoal Mocumbi, EDCTP’s first High Representative and former Prime Minister of Mozambique, for his outstanding contribution to fostering global partnerships in health research and his support for capacity strengthening in Africa.

Prizes are given biennially in a ceremony at the EDCTP Forum.

The Prizes are part of the EDCTP programme which is supported by the European Union under Horizon 2020, it’s Framework Programme for Research & Innovation.

EDCTP Prizes 2018

Dr Pascoal Mocumbi Prize
Professor Souleymane Mboup

Outstanding Research Team 2018
CHAPAS studies team

Outstanding Female Scientist 2018
Professor Gita Ramjee

Scientific Leadership 2018
Professor Keertan Dheda

More information

2016 prizes

Dr Pascoal Mocumbi Prize
Professor Fred Newton Binka

Outstanding Research Team 2016
University of Zambia – University College London Medical School (UNZA-UCLMS) Research & Training Program

Outstanding Female Scientist 2016
Professor Marleen Temmerman

Scientific Leadership 2016
Professor Shabir A. Mahdi

More information »

2013 Prizes

Outstanding African Scientist
Dr Glenda Gray, University of Witwatersrand and Medical Research Council, South Africa

Rising Star African Scientist
Dr Graeme Meintjes, University of Cape Town, South Africa

More information »

2011 prizes

Outstanding Senior African Scientist
Professor Salim Abdool Karim, University of KwaZulu Natal, South Africa

Outstanding Junior African Scientist
Mr Hannock Tweya, Lighthouse Trust, Malawi

More information »

2009 prizes

Outstanding Senior African Scientist
Dr Alexis Nzila, Head of the Molecular Parasitology Group at the KEMRI Wellcome Trust Research Programmme in Kilifi, Kenya

Outstanding Junior African Scientist
Dr Dominique Pepper, Institute of Infectious Diseases and Molecular Medicine in Cape Town, South Africa

More information »