Board of the EDCTP Association

EDCTP Board (left to right): Yazdan Yazdanpanah (Chair), Christiane Druml, Michael Makanga, Morven Roberts, Godfrey Biemba, Jeffrey Mphahlele

The EDCTP Board is entrusted with the management of the Association, supervises the Secretariat on behalf of the General Assembly, and is responsible for ensuring that the Association’s resources are properly and efficiently managed.

Board members are selected from amongst the General Assembly representatives and their deputies and are appointed by the General Assembly with a tenure of two years, consecutively renewable once. The Chairperson and up to two Vice-Chairpersons of the Board are appointed in function and also act as the Chairperson/Vice-Chairperson(s) of the General Assembly.

As of 2017, the main documents reflecting the work of the Board are published in a public version.

Members of the Board

Currently, the Board consists of the following members:

  • Yazdan Yazdanpanah (France), Chairperson
  • Christiane Druml (Austria), Vice-Chair
  • Jeffrey Mphahlele (South Africa), Vice-Chair
  • Godfrey Biemba (Zambia), Member
  • Andrea Spelberg (Germany), Member

Representatives of the European Commission, the EDCTP Scientific Advisory Committee and the EDCTP High Representatives may attend Board meetings by invitation, as non-voting observers.

Meetings and Decisions

01 February 2018 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

10 October 2017 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

12 September 2017 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

27 July 2017 | Agenda and Decisions & Actions

Other information and documents

EDCTP Articles of Association. Further details on the Board’s membership, decision-making process and management tasks can be found in articles 15-19 of the EDCTP Articles of Association.