Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee (SAC) is an advisory panel of independent scientific experts from Europe and Africa. Working with the Secretariat, the SAC develops the strategic framework for EDCTP and advises the General Assembly on technical and scientific matters relating to the EDCTP programme.

The SAC is not involved in the review of applications submitted to EDCTP calls for proposals.

As of 2017, the main documents reflecting the work of the Scientific Advisory Committee are published in a public version.

Members of the Scientific Advisory Committee

Currently, the Committee consists of the following members:

Observers to the Scientific Advisory Committee

European Commission: Research and Innovation
Dr Alessandra Martini | Policy Officer in Unit E2 – Combating Diseases

World Health Organization: Regional Office for Africa
Dr Joseph Okeibunor | Scientist coordinating research activities in the WHO Regional Office for Africa

Meetings and Decisions

08 May 2018 | Agenda and Minutes (joint meeting of General Assembly and Scientific Advisory Committee)

14-15 September 2017 | Agenda and Summary of Decisions

30-31 March 2017 | Agenda and Summary of Decisions