EDCTP Prizes 2018 awarded at Ninth Forum

28 September 2018

EDCTP awarded its 2018 prizes for research excellence and the Pascoal Mocumbi Prize at the opening ceremony of the Ninth Forum on Monday 17 September. Dr Leonardo Simão and Prof. Marcel Tanner, the EDCTP High Representatives for Africa and Europe, presented the prizes.

  • The Pascoal Mocumbi Prize was awarded to Professor Souleymane Mboup (Faculty of Medicine and Pharmacy, University of Cheikh Anta Diop, Dakar, Senegal; Institut de Recherche en Santé, de Surveillance Epidémiologique et de Formation [Institute for Health Research, Epidemiological Surveillance and Training], Diamniadio, Senegal.
  • The Outstanding Research Team prize was awarded to the CHAPAS studies team (Children with HIV in Africa – Pharmacokinetics and Acceptability of Simple antiretroviral regimens).
  • The Outstanding Female Scientist prize was awarded to Professor Gita Ramjee (Chief Specialist Scientist and Director of the HIV Prevention Research Unit of the South African Medical Research Council, Durban, South Africa ).
  • The Scientific Leadership prize was awarded to Professor Keertan Dheda (Head of the Centre for Lung Infection and Immunity and Head of the Division of Pulmonology at Groote Schuur Hospital and the University of Cape Town, South Africa).


More on the 2018 EDCTP prizes.

The EDCTP prizes recognise outstanding individuals and research teams from Africa and Europe who have made significant achievements in research field. In addition to their scientific excellence, the awardees will have made major contributions to the EDCTP objectives of strengthening clinical research capacity in Africa and supporting South-South and North-South networking.

The Dr Pascoal Mocumbi prize is named after EDCTP’s first High Representative and former Prime Minister of Mozambique, for his outstanding contribution to fostering global partnerships in health research and his support for capacity strengthening in Africa.