Professor Kogieleum Naidoo receives the Outstanding Female Scientist Prize

07 November 2023

The EDCTP Outstanding Female Scientist Prize 2023 was given to Professor Kogieleum Naidoo of the Centre for the AIDS Program of Research in South Africa (CAPRISA), South Africa. The Prize is awarded to world-leading female scientists in sub-Saharan Africa working on HIV/AIDS, tuberculosis, malaria and neglected infectious diseases. The ceremony took place at the Eleventh EDCTP Forum in Paris, France, during the opening session on 7 November 2023. The prize consists of a recognition trophy and a cash prize of €20,000. The Prize was presented by the French Minister of Higher Education and Research, Ms Sylvie Retailleau.  

Prof. Naidoo is a leading expert in HIV-associated tuberculosis (TB). She is the lead investigator in several national and international phase II/III studies aimed at finding and preventing TB, TB-HIV integration, optimising TB-HIV treatment success, improving DR-TB diagnosis and outcomes, and identifying correlates of TB risk and outcomes in people living with HIV/AIDS, helping advance understanding of these intertwined diseases.

Prof. Naidoo’s research has significantly advanced TB and HIV treatment and prevention strategies through rigorous evaluation of innovative or improved medical interventions applicable to sub-Saharan African settings. Prof. Naidoo’s research on reducing mortality in TB-HIV co-infection, immune reconstitution inflammatory syndrome, additive drug toxicity, and drug interactions has been influential in shaping local and international clinical and policy guidelines.

Prof. Naidoo mentors and supervises several undergraduate and postgraduate students as her passion is to train the next generation of scientists and scientific leadership. She has an outstanding scientific publication record. She has delivered several keynote presentations locally and internationally.

In addition to research, Prof. Naidoo has made seminal contributions to AIDS care and treatment in Southern Africa. Through PEPFAR funding, she led the programme of nurse-initiated ARV treatment and pioneered strategies for TB-HIV integration years before it became policy. Her initiatives on health systems strengthening for advanced clinical care delivery for complex HIV have been adopted by the South African National Department of Health.

Visit the EDCTP website for more information about the EDCTP Outstanding Female Scientist Prize.